Our School

Marion Charter School recognizes and respects the uniqueness of each child. Established in 2000, the school’s primary mission is to foster a love of learning in each student. We strive to guide students to be respectful citizens, successful problem solvers, and lifelong learners who value themselves and others. Our curriculum skillfully weaves artistic and practical disciplines into everyday academics. Students learn to follow their curiosity, to think creatively, and to work both independently and cooperatively with others.

At Marion Charter School, we celebrate diversity and strive to instill integrity, compassion and confidence in each child. We give each child support and encouragement to become his or her own unique self.
That children are unique in that they have their own inherent style of learning that is not necessarily goal oriented, but is driven by their need to feel competent as they manipulate the world around them. By building on this need, we can educate them best by placing them in a carefully prepared environment that directs them to use the tools of learning (reading, writing, and mathematics) to solve problems of interest to them.

Challenging thinking, innovation, and disciplined inquiry constitute the foundations of informed thought. Daily successes and mistakes are seen as a natural part of an active learning process.

Social Responsibility and the ability to positively interact with others is a primary skill needed for success in life. The development of informed thought and lifelong learning abilities are best supported in an environment that encourages consideration of others, compassion, empathy, responsibility and self-discipline.

School is a place where the entire staff works together to create opportunities for active and engaged learning in a safe, nurturing and family friendly environment. Education of our children is the shared responsibility of families, schools, and the community.
To see each child experience at least a year’s growth in their core subjects and continuing growth in social skills each year.

To see children become skilled independent thinkers and problem solvers throughout the elementary years.

To see children become active and caring citizens within their school community, neighborhood community and families.

Each member of our school community will work to the best of their ability to meet the challenges of learning, to facilitate learning and to support the vision of Marion Charter School. Each child, parent, and staff member will be an integral part of the school and our shared mission is the success of each child at our school.

To provide each child with timely and effective assistance and, to help the school best serve each child, individual and ongoing assessments are integral to our school. Each child will be formally assessed at the beginning of the year and will continue to be assessed both formally throughout the year. Special learning needs will be diagnosed and Individual Education Plans created to help teachers, parents, and students share how to best assist the child in meeting success in school.

Hands on, teacher guided, student centered learning activities will be widely used.

Activities and projects will be multi-disciplinary and focus on several learning outcomes. In our school, mastery is fixed and time varies. We support the need for students to achieve mastery of the needed skills, and realize that mastery takes varying amounts of time in each individual.

To facilitate social interaction and provide for needs to facilitate student success. Our developmental curriculum acknowledges that young children learn at different rates.

Our curriculum is not driven by the need to finish the chapter, but rather to insure mastery of the basic skills. It acknowledges and facilitates both the child ready for enrichment and the child needing additional time and help to master the foundational skills.

The mission statement and planned curriculum have at their core the concept of a developmental approach to education. This form of curriculum is highly responsive to individual learning abilities and modalities. It maintains a focus on a challenging curriculum and facilities it with a flexible time structure and instructional approach. Yes, all students can learn, but we know, and research shows us, that they learn at different paces and in different ways. By establishing a schoolwide respect for that fact and structuring a curriculum that responds to what we know, students have the opportunity to experience ongoing success at a pace that matches their abilities. The philosophy of Marion Charter School, and the methods we will use to facilitate it, enhance student learning for all children.
In July of 2000, two educators, Gina Evers and Becky Wolf, officially opened Marion County’s first charter school – Marion Charter School. After 18 months preparing, Marion Charter School opened in August of 2000 with 150 students in K-3rd grade. They were temporarily housed in classrooms at the Druid Hills United Methodist Church.

The following year, they moved to portables on the College Park Elementary campus while they waited for their own school to be completed out in Silver Springs Shores. Over spring break of the 2001-02 school year, dedicated staff and parents moved the entire school and set it up, ready to go, in one week. In the following year, they added a second building to house a cafeteria, 4th and 5th grades, media center, art room and therapy rooms. Marion Charter School was home!

In our years of operation, we have provided a family atmosphere for our students and staff members. Our enrollment stays under 230 students to allow for a personal attention for all children.

Our School Resources and Information

We are here for you, if you have any questions please contact us today.

Michelle Axson

Principal
Email
michelle.axson@marion.k12.fl.us

Valerie Wells

Guidance Counselor/Dean
Email
valerie.wells@marion.k12.fl.us

Sandra Wagner

Administrative Assistant
Email
sandra.wagner@marion.k12.fl.us

Angela Wells

Health Clinic Assistant
Email
angela.wells@marion.k12.fl.us

Bonnie Carter

Kindergarten Teacher
Email
bonnie.carter@marion.k12.fl.us

Matosha Maldonado

Kindergarten Teacher
Email
amy.booe@marion.k12.fl.us

Emerale Owens

Kdg. grade Paraprofessional
Email
emerale.owens@marion.k12.fl.us

Lisa Belwood

1st Grade Teacher
Email
lisa.belwood@marion.k12.fl.us

Heidi Kucharek

1st Grade Teacher
Email
heidi.kucharek@marion.k12.fl.us

Heidi Vierthaler

1st grade Paraprofessional
Email
heidi.vierthaler@marion.k12.fl.us

Beth Dillingham

2nd Grade Teacher
Email
beth.dillingham@marion.k12.fl.us

Shelby Murphy

2nd Grade Teacher
Email
shelby.murphy@marion.k12.fl.us

Takela Washington

2nd grade Paraprofessional
Email
takela.washington@marion.k12.fl.us

Melinda Dube

3rd Grade Teacher
Email
melinda.dube@marion.k12.fl.us

Amy Booe

3rd Grade Teacher
Email
amy.booe@marion.k12.fl.us

Debera Larocco

3rd grade Paraprofessional
Email
debera.larocco@marion.k12.fl.us

Marie Fish

4th Grade Teacher
Email
marie.fish1@marion.k12.fl.us

Tricia Montanez

4th Grade Teacher
Email
tricia.montanez2@marion.k12.fl.us

Michelle Semp

4th grade Paraprofessional
Email
amy.booe@marion.k12.fl.us

James Egert

5th Grade Teacher
Email
james.egert2@marion.k12.fl.us

Gerri Gurney

5th Grade Teacher
Email
gerri.gurney@marion.k12.fl.us

Lisa Moon

5th grade Paraprofessional
Email
lisa.moon@marion.k12.fl.us

Timothy Turner

PE Coach
Email
timothy.turner@marion.k12.fl.us

Allison Hinerman

ESE Consultant Gifted Teacher
Email
allison.hinerman@marion.k12.fl.us

Vicki Bosworth

Media Specialist
Email
vicki.bosworth@marion.k12.fl.us

Jennifer Amerling

Paraprofessional
Email
jennifer.amerling@marion.k12.fl.us

Donna Hall

Cafeteria
Email
donna.hall@marion.k12.fl.us

Jenni Tompkins

Speech Therapist
Email
jenni.tompkins@marion.k12.fl.us

Board Members

Dawn Coquillard

Registered Occupational Therapist in the Marion County School System. Author of the World of Smiles Handwriting Program. Mother of three children.


EMAIL
Dawn.Coquillard
@marion.k12.fl.us

Sonya Williams

My name is Sonya Williams and I have taught in the Florida public school system for 24 years. I have worked at the school and district level in Title-1 schools. I value the efforts made by Marion Charter to improve the educational experiences of all learners. I am honored to be a board member for Marion Charter and look forward to an exiting year!


EMAIL
Sonya.Williams
@marion.k12.fl.us

Kelley Spears

• Retired Speech/Language Pathologist (CCC-SLP)

• Master of Science Degree ~ Florida State University

• Bachelor of the Arts Degree ~ The University of Florida

• Previous Board Member for the Junior League of Ocala

• Previous Parent-Teacher League President ~ St. John Lutheran

• Previous Board Member for the Ivy Circle Garden Club of Ocala

• Along with husband, Chris Spears, owners of Prestige Auto Sales

• Mother of two daughters, Savannah (17) and Saylor (13)

• Alpha Delta Pi Sorority member while attending UF

• Fourth generation Ocalan


EMAIL
kells
@prestige4you.com

Michelle Axson

Principal MCS


EMAIL
Michelle.Axson
@marion.k12.fl.us

Dan Miller

Marion Charter School © All Rights Reserved | Website by Paul Wong